AI take on Draw Things
As of August 2026, Draw Things stands out for local-first creative AI, though its cloud tier details need far more transparency.
Image & Design comparison · 2026
Compare Draw Things and Microsoft Designer as Image & Design tools on fit, pricing, and the capabilities that actually overlap in 2026. Pick Draw Things for teams generating concept art and illustration on an iPad without an internet connection and animating a finished still into a short video clip inside the same app. Pick Microsoft Designer for small business owners and social media creators who need a publish-ready post or invitation from a written prompt without hiring a designer or learning a full editor..
Updated Aug 22, 2026
Private, offline AI image generation for iPhone, iPad, and Mac
Starts at $0/month·Image & Design
Stunning designs in a flash
Starts at $0/month·Image & Design
Shared Image & Design rubric, filled from each listing. Not a score.
These listings describe different capabilities. What each one ships:
Only Draw Things
Only Microsoft Designer
These listings describe different use cases. What each one ships:
Only Draw Things
Only Microsoft Designer
These listings describe different integrations. What each one ships:
Only Draw Things
Nothing exclusive in this list.
Only Microsoft Designer
Draw Things
Free Edition $0/mo or $0/yr
Use local Compute to generate · Download models from our server · Infinite canvas · Train LoRAs locally
Community $0/mo or $0/yr
Free account · Use Cloud Compute for free · Access Lab Hours · Everything in Free Edition
Draw Things+ $8.99/mo
Increased Cloud Compute limits · Use your own LoRAs with Cloud Compute · Boost compute limits on demand · Privacy Pass · Everything in Community Edition
Microsoft Designer
Free with a Microsoft account $0/mo
Access to the Microsoft Designer web app at designer.microsoft.com · Prompt-to-design generation for social posts, invitations, postcards, and graphics · Template-based editing, text restyling, and photo editing tools · AI image and design generation limited by a monthly AI credit allowance · No pricing page was published on designer.microsoft.com at crawl time, so credit counts are not stated
Microsoft 365 subscription uplift Not published on designer.microsoft.com
Larger monthly allowance of AI credits for image and design generation in Microsoft Designer · Billed through a Microsoft 365 consumer subscription rather than a Microsoft Designer plan · Exact credit counts and the subscription price are not stated on the Microsoft Designer homepage
Who each product is for, then labeled AI takes. Not a generic winner.
Bottom line
Pick Draw Things for teams generating concept art and illustration on an iPad without an internet connection and animating a finished still into a short video clip inside the same app. Pick Microsoft Designer for small business owners and social media creators who need a publish-ready post or invitation from a written prompt without hiring a designer or learning a full editor..

Teams generating concept art and illustration on an iPad without an internet connection and animating a finished still into a short video clip inside the same app
Private, offline AI image generation for iPhone, iPad, and Mac

Small business owners and social media creators who need a publish-ready post or invitation from a written prompt without hiring a designer or learning a full editor.
Stunning designs in a flash
AI take on Draw Things
As of August 2026, Draw Things stands out for local-first creative AI, though its cloud tier details need far more transparency.
AI take on Microsoft Designer
As of August 2026, Designer’s appeal is its unusually direct idea-to-post workflow; its trade-off is a lighter, credit-metered creative environment.
Common questions when choosing between Draw Things and Microsoft Designer.
Pick Draw Things for teams generating concept art and illustration on an iPad without an internet connection and animating a finished still into a short video clip inside the same app. Pick Microsoft Designer for small business owners and social media creators who need a publish-ready post or invitation from a written prompt without hiring a designer or learning a full editor..
Draw Things starts at $0/month. Microsoft Designer starts at $0/month. Confirm current pricing on each vendor site.
Teams generating concept art and illustration on an iPad without an internet connection and animating a finished still into a short video clip inside the same app
Small business owners and social media creators who need a publish-ready post or invitation from a written prompt without hiring a designer or learning a full editor.
Embed this on your site
Drop Ask AI buttons into your page. Readers open their own AI with Draw Things vs Microsoft Designer in context.
To request a correction, contact [email protected].