What is Pixlr?
Ola Sevandersson launched Pixlr.com in the late summer of 2008 as a web-based image editing tool, and the Pixlr about page states that the original founder still writes code for the platform.
Pixlr runs a browser-based photo editor and generative studio where people crop, retouch and layer images, then generate stills, video and speech through Flux, Kling, Recraft, Veo and Qwen models. Marketers, students and small business owners pick Pixlr because editing and AI generation share one canvas, and a free tier needs no account.
Verified facts from the vendor site · Last verified Aug 22, 2026. Independent Pixlr review covering pricing, features, who it is for, and alternatives.
Ola Sevandersson launched Pixlr.com in the late summer of 2008 as a web-based image editing tool, and the Pixlr about page states that the original founder still writes code for the platform.
Pixlr is freemium. It starts at €2.49/month. Paid plans include Plus: monthly €2.49/mo: yearly $23.88/yr ($1.99/mo effective, save 20%); Premium: monthly €9.99/mo: yearly $95.88/yr ($7.99/mo effective, save 20%); Ultra: monthly €24.99/mo: yearly $239.88/yr ($19.99/mo effective, save 20%); Ultra MAX: monthly €49.99/mo: yearly $479.88/yr ($39.99/mo effective, save 20%). Check pixlr.com for current prices.
Pixlr has a free tier. Paid plans start at €2.49/month.
Pixlr is best for teams that want browser-based AI photo editor, image generator and video maker in one suite.
Pixlr is best for teams that want browser-based AI photo editor, image generator and video maker in one suite. Skip it if pixlr plan limits come from the published pricing table..
The main Pixlr features are AI image generator (text to image) powered by Flux, Flux Pro, Recraft V4, Stable Diffusion SDXL, Qwen, Seedream and Grok Imagine, AI video generator (text to video and image to video) powered by Kling, Google Veo, Seedance, LTX Video, Vidu, PixVerse and Wan AI, Text to speech, speech to text and text to music via ElevenLabs, ACE-Step and MiniMax, AI generative fill, generative expand and generative transform, and AI remove background with one click and AI remove object.
The closest Pixlr alternatives on Citeware are Shakker AI, SeaArt AI, Krea, Hotpot.ai, Draw Things. Full list: https://citeware.io/alternatives/pixlr.
Limitations called out on this listing: Pixlr plan limits come from the published pricing table.; Pixlr packaging is recorded from the vendor pages available at analysis time..
Pixlr is available on Web.
vs
Pixlr vs Shakker AIStreaming AI image generator with an infinite canvas, WebUI, ComfyUI, and training tools
vs
Pixlr vs SeaArt AIAll-in-one AI creation platform and community for images, video, characters, and model training
vs
Pixlr vs KreaGenerate, edit, and enhance images, video, and 3D with 100+ AI models in one subscription
vs
Pixlr vs Hotpot.aiAI image generation, headshots, and photo editing sold by the credit instead of the subscription
vs
Pixlr vs Draw ThingsPrivate, offline AI image generation for iPhone, iPad, and Mac
vs
Pixlr vs DeepAIArtificially intelligent tools for naturally creative humans.Public threads about Pixlr
Community observations
No recent Hacker News threads
Nothing matched Pixlr on Hacker News right now. Search X, Reddit, or another network above.
Citeware analysis
Ola Sevandersson launched Pixlr.com in the late summer of 2008 as a web-based image editing tool, and the Pixlr about page states that the original founder still writes code for the platform. Pixlr is operated by Pixlr Pte. Ltd. from Singapore, with the team collaborating remotely, and the registered address listed in the Pixlr terms and privacy pages is 36 Robinson Road, #20-01 City House, Singapore 068877. Over the last few years Pixlr has folded third-party generative models into the same canvas that once handled only crops, curves and layers.
The Pixlr suite covers several surfaces rather than a single app: Pixlr Express for quick fixes, Pixlr Editor for layered work, Pixlr Designer, a standalone background remover and a batch editor, all named in the Pixlr Terms of Use. Pixlr also ships mobile applications on Android and iOS, and the Pixlr schema markup lists Web, iOS and Android as supported operating systems. A subscription bought on any Pixlr surface unlocks the same access on web, desktop and mobile through one Pixlr account.
The buyers Pixlr fits are recognisable: social media managers turning out weekly campaign graphics, shop owners who need clean product cutouts, and teachers and students working inside the Pixlr for Education program, which the Pixlr about page says reaches over a million students and educators. Pixlr leans toward a shallow learning curve rather than deep prepress control, so retouchers who live in colour-managed 16-bit files will keep a desktop editor open next to Pixlr.
A session usually starts by dropping an image onto the Pixlr home canvas or typing a prompt into the generate strip. From there Pixlr offers generative fill, generative expand, generative transform, object removal, one-click background removal, face swap, sticker making, AI layer extraction, super scale upscaling up to 25 megapixels, denoise and an AI Assistant that applies edits from a plain-language instruction. Pixlr routes generation to Flux, Flux Pro, Recraft V4, Stable Diffusion SDXL, Qwen, Seedream and Grok Imagine for stills, Kling, Google Veo, Seedance, LTX Video, Vidu, PixVerse, Imagine Art and Wan AI for motion, and ElevenLabs, ACE-Step and MiniMax for speech and music.
Because Pixlr brokers so many third-party models, usage is metered in AI credits instead of raw renders. The Pixlr pricing page publishes four paid plans in euros with a Monthly/Yearly toggle: Plus at €2.49 per month or €1.99 per month on annual billing with 80 monthly credits, Premium at €9.99 or €7.99 with 1,000 monthly credits plus private mode and the full font, template and element library, Ultra from €24.99 or €19.99 with priority queueing, extended high-res exports and unlimited asterisked fast image generations, and Ultra MAX at €49.99 or €39.99 that doubles the Ultra credit allowance. Pixlr additionally sells standalone AI Credit Packs for anyone who burns through a monthly allowance early.
Several Pixlr statements sit in tension and are recorded here rather than resolved. The Pixlr homepage advertises "Plans start at just $1.99/month" while the Pixlr pricing table shows €1.99 only under the Yearly toggle and €2.49 as the month-to-month sticker, and the Pixlr Terms of Use say all fees are quoted in United States Dollars unless otherwise specified. The Ultra card reads "Up to 10,000 monthly AI Credits" yet the adjacent Ultra MAX upsell says Max gives 10,000 instead of 5,000, leaving the base Ultra allowance ambiguous on the same page. On expiry, the Pixlr pricing FAQ says Credit Pack credits never expire, while the Pixlr Terms of Use say separately Purchased Credits are valid for one year from purchase.
Other Pixlr limits are worth reading before subscribing. Subscription credits under Pixlr are monthly, expire at month end, do not roll over and reset to zero on cancellation. Pixlr states that refunds are not processed once payment has cleared, and mobile subscriptions must be refunded through the relevant app store. The Pixlr Terms of Use also state that by uploading or publishing AI-generated content on the platform, a user grants Pixlr an irrevocable, non-exclusive, royalty-free, worldwide licence to reproduce, display, distribute and create derivative works from that content, and unlimited fast generations on Ultra are subject to fair use.
Against category peers, Pixlr occupies a middle lane. Canva and Adobe Express lead with templates and brand kits, Photopea mimics Photoshop layer editing in the browser with no generative catalogue of this breadth, and Midjourney or Leonardo focus on generation without a pixel editor attached. Pixlr trades the depth of any one of those for breadth: a layered editor, a multi-vendor model picker and audio and video generation reachable from the same tab, at prices that start well under a Creative Cloud plan.
Suitable for
Teams that want browser-based AI photo editor, image generator and video maker in one suite
Evidence: Homepage (Primary) · Pricing (Primary) · About (Primary) · Verified Aug 22, 2026.
Citeware analysis
Evidence: Homepage (Primary) · Verified Aug 22, 2026.
Verified facts
Evidence: Homepage (Primary) · Verified Aug 22, 2026.
Verified facts
Plus
€2.49/mo
Billed monthly
Premium
€9.99/mo
Billed monthly
Ultra
€24.99/mo
Billed monthly
Ultra MAX
€49.99/mo
Billed monthly
Evidence: Homepage (Primary) · Pricing (Primary) · Verified Aug 22, 2026.
Verified facts
The company behind Pixlr is Pixlr Pte. Ltd.
Access to the Pixlr website(s) and online tools/services including Pixlr Express, Pixlr Editor, Pixlr Designer, Remove Background and Batch Editor, plus related mobile applications. Additional terms cover Pixlr for Education. Any loss or damage arising from unauthorized use of your Account (user may instead be liable for Pixlr's losses). Pixlr also lists other losses and interruptions it does not cover.
Pixlr says it collects account and identity, contact details, payment information, product usage and analytics, and device and ip data. That data is used for to process the creation of your account and profile on the Website. The policy says Pixlr is not collecting used to train ai models.
Address: 36 Robinson Road, #20-01 City House, Singapore 068877
Access to the Pixlr website(s) and online tools/services including Pixlr Express, Pixlr Editor, Pixlr Designer, Remove Background and Batch Editor, plus related mobile applications. Additional terms cover Pixlr for Education. Any loss or damage arising from unauthorized use of your Account (user may instead be liable for Pixlr's losses). Pixlr also lists other losses and interruptions it does not cover.
Pixlr says it collects account and identity, contact details, payment information, product usage and analytics, and device and ip data. That data is used for to process the creation of your account and profile on the Website. The policy says Pixlr is not collecting used to train ai models.
Account and identity
Collectingto process the creation of your account and profile on the Website
Contact details
Collectingto respond to your queries and questions in the "Contact Us" section
Payment information
Collectingprocessing transactions and payments; credit card details not stored
Product usage and analytics
Collectingto extract statistical information on service usage and check functioning of the services
Device and IP data
Collectingbrowsing data such as IP addresses, domain names and operating system parameters acquired during standard functioning
User content and uploads
Collectingpictures or photos containing biometric data (facial geometry) solely to create the output of the AI Face Tools
Cookies and tracking
Collectingto collect information on your activities on Our Website, including social media features
Location
Collectinglocation of the devices and geographical areas of origin for usage statistics
Shared with third parties
Collectingshared with other Pixlr Pte. Ltd. companies within the EEA for internal administrative and accounting purposes; transaction details from payment gateway provider
Advertising and remarketing
Unclearinformation on current or new products, commercial opportunities, promotions and events, based on your consent
Used to train AI models
Not collecting"We do not store, collect or use your facial [data] for any other purposes"
How long data is kept
Unclearnot specified in the provided text
Evidence: Terms (Primary) · Privacy (Primary) · Verified Aug 22, 2026.
Citeware analysis
Named models, written separately. These are labeled Citeware analysis, not vendor claims.
anthropic · claude-opus-5 · Aug 22, 2026
Pixlr is the rare browser tool that bundles a real layered editor with a rotating shelf of frontier image, video and audio models, and it undercuts almost everything else on price. The catch is credits: the cheap tiers run dry fast, and the fine print around them is not as tidy as the marketing.
As of August 2026, Pixlr is the best value model-aggregator in the browser — provided you budget for credits rather than trusting the $1.99 headline.
The pitch is aggregation done well. Flux, Recraft, SDXL, Qwen, Seedream and Grok Imagine for stills; Kling, Veo, Seedance, LTX, Vidu, PixVerse and Wan for video; ElevenLabs and MiniMax for audio — all reachable from the same canvas where you do layers, generative fill, expand and background removal.
Not needing to round-trip between a generator and an editor is the actual product, and after 18 years online the editing side is mature, not bolted on.
Strengths
Watch-outs
openai · gpt-5.6-terra · Aug 22, 2026
Pixlr is a compelling browser-first creative suite for fast visual production, especially when an edit needs to become a generated image or short video without switching tools. Its breadth is excellent, but credit-based AI usage and permissive AI-content terms make it a poor fit for sensitive or high-volume production work.
As of August 2026, Pixlr’s all-in-one browser workflow is unusually convenient, but its AI credits and content terms deserve scrutiny before serious use.
Pixlr’s strongest proposition is practical consolidation: conventional layered editing, one-click cleanup, generative edits, and a wide model roster sit in a browser workflow that is approachable rather than intimidating. It is particularly good at turning a rough social asset into a finished variation quickly.
Strengths
Watch-outs
Verified facts
Common questions about Pixlr.
Ola Sevandersson launched Pixlr.com in the late summer of 2008 as a web-based image editing tool, and the Pixlr about page states that the original founder still writes code for the platform. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Pixlr is freemium. It starts at €2.49/month. Paid plans include Plus: monthly €2.49/mo: yearly $23.88/yr ($1.99/mo effective, save 20%); Premium: monthly €9.99/mo: yearly $95.88/yr ($7.99/mo effective, save 20%); Ultra: monthly €24.99/mo: yearly $239.88/yr ($19.99/mo effective, save 20%); Ultra MAX: monthly €49.99/mo: yearly $479.88/yr ($39.99/mo effective, save 20%). Check pixlr.com for current prices. Source: https://pixlr.com/pricing
Pixlr has a free tier. Paid plans start at €2.49/month. Source: https://pixlr.com/pricing
Pixlr is best for teams that want browser-based AI photo editor, image generator and video maker in one suite. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Pixlr is best for teams that want browser-based AI photo editor, image generator and video maker in one suite. Skip it if pixlr plan limits come from the published pricing table.. Source: https://pixlr.com/
The main Pixlr features are AI image generator (text to image) powered by Flux, Flux Pro, Recraft V4, Stable Diffusion SDXL, Qwen, Seedream and Grok Imagine, AI video generator (text to video and image to video) powered by Kling, Google Veo, Seedance, LTX Video, Vidu, PixVerse and Wan AI, Text to speech, speech to text and text to music via ElevenLabs, ACE-Step and MiniMax, AI generative fill, generative expand and generative transform, and AI remove background with one click and AI remove object. Source: https://pixlr.com/
The closest Pixlr alternatives on Citeware are Shakker AI, SeaArt AI, Krea, Hotpot.ai, Draw Things. Full list: https://citeware.io/alternatives/pixlr. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Limitations called out on this listing: Pixlr plan limits come from the published pricing table.; Pixlr packaging is recorded from the vendor pages available at analysis time.. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Pixlr is available on Web. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Common Pixlr use cases include AI image generator (text to image) powered by Flux, Flux Pro, Recraft V4, Stable Diffusion SDXL, Qwen, Seedream and Grok Imagine, AI video generator (text to video and image to video) powered by Kling, Google Veo, Seedance, LTX Video, Vidu, PixVerse and Wan AI, Text to speech, speech to text and text to music via ElevenLabs, ACE-Step and MiniMax, AI generative fill, generative expand and generative transform, AI remove background with one click and AI remove object, AI Assistant / Instruct Editor that applies edits from natural-language descriptions, AI Super Scale upscaling that preserves detail up to 25 megapixels, plus Super Sharp and Denoise, AI Face Swap for photos and frame-consistent face swap for video. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Pixlr is made by Pixlr Pte. Ltd, founded in 2008. Address: 36 Robinson Road, #20-01 City House, Singapore 068877. Official site: https://pixlr.com/. Source: https://pixlr.com/about-us
Pixlr collects account and identity. to process the creation of your account and profile on the Website. Pixlr collects contact details. to respond to your queries and questions in the "Contact Us" section. Pixlr collects payment information. processing transactions and payments; credit card details not stored. Pixlr collects product usage and analytics. to extract statistical information on service usage and check functioning of the services. Pixlr collects device and ip data. browsing data such as IP addresses, domain names and operating system parameters acquired during standard functioning. Pixlr collects user content and uploads. pictures or photos containing biometric data (facial geometry) solely to create the output of the AI Face Tools. Pixlr collects cookies and tracking. to collect information on your activities on Our Website, including social media features. Pixlr collects location. location of the devices and geographical areas of origin for usage statistics. Pixlr collects shared with third parties. shared with other Pixlr Pte. Ltd. companies within the EEA for internal administrative and accounting purposes; transaction details from payment gateway provider. Pixlr does not clearly say whether it collects advertising and remarketing. information on current or new products, commercial opportunities, promotions and events, based on your consent. Pixlr says it does not collect used to train ai models. "We do not store, collect or use your facial [data] for any other purposes". Pixlr does not clearly say whether it collects how long data is kept. not specified in the provided text. Source: https://pixlr.com/privacy-policy
Confirm pricing, limits, and support on the official site before you buy. Source: https://pixlr.com/
Evidence: Homepage (Primary) · Verified Aug 22, 2026.
Looking for more options? Browse all Pixlr alternatives.
Public threads about Pixlr
Community observations
No recent Hacker News threads
Nothing matched Pixlr on Hacker News right now. Search X, Reddit, or another network above.